curious, not creepy.


storytellers.

it could be because my new job requires me to spend a lot of time by myself, in a dark, cold, cubical in a corner where all i have is my iPod to keep me from going totally insane, but i’ve re-discovered my love of podcasts. specifically, being told a true story by the person who experienced it.

thanks to anthony, i’ve been exposed to the absolutely amazing the tobolowsky files. stephen tobolowsky is probably one of the most famous “that guy” and in less then a week i listened to all the episodes which can be downloaded for free via itunes. they’re fantastic stories, told by a man who i’ve come to think of as that kinda weird family friend who tells you about when he was your age. some of the tales are hilarious, others are heart-breaking, but all of them are very sincere and honest which makes you forget that he’s not talking to you specifically. which i think is pretty awesome.

and of course, there is this american life. i’ve listened to this show for a while now, but have just recently gotten back into it. ira glass could just read from the dictionary and i’d be totally captivated. there are some stories that are wayyy better than others but overall they do a great job. it can also be downloaded for free via itunes, and on their website you can buy old episodes for like 99 cents.

but i need more! do you guys have any suggestions? give them to me, plz.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this american lyfe 4 lyfe!

i totally think you can d/l them free on the website!! unless they changed it super recently.

i have to check out this other fellow. i’m a serious podcaster, it’s the only way i’ve braved the rainy winter & its the sole reason i get my sewing done.

Comment by nika

I love listening to stand-up! I listen to david cross and mitch hedberg in the car all the time.

also im sure you have read sedaris, and of course he makes appearances on TAL, but he never gets old. I have his “live at carnagie” cd if you want to borrow it. but really if you can track down all of his books “on tape” it will take awhile to get through, and will be super entertaining even if you have read them.

Comment by manders

nika, we posted at the exact same time. weeeiirdddd.

luv ya gurl! misses and kisses!

Comment by manders

Hometown Tales! You’ll love it.

Comment by Dewtron

I love Ira Glass.

At our old house I I became obsessed with this podcast that was just Stephen Fry reading all the newspaper headlines. I’d listen to it every day when I was getting ready for school.

Comment by Leah

thanks dudes!!

Comment by chriiiistian




Leave a Reply

